Print and Go Back SEC [Print without images]

Thursday, February 16, 2012
Five named to All-Commonwealth Team

By Edward Aschoff

Five Kentucky football players were named to the Kentucky Pro Football Hall of Fame 2011 All-Commonwealth Collegiate team, the school announced Wednesday.

Seniors Winston Guy, Danny Trevathan and Ryan Tydlacka, and juniors La'Rod King and Larry Warford were named to the 44-member team. Trevathan earned the Defensive Player of the Year Award by the organization.

This is the second year for the All-Commonwealth Team, which was created "to give recognition to youth at a local level and empower them to develop expectations of greatness." According to the organization’s release, "these athletes represent the best college football players that the state of Kentucky has to offer, while their dedication to the game has contributed significantly to their teams."