Print and Go Back SEC [Print without images]

Wednesday, June 5, 2013
Phil Steele picks preseason All-Americans

By Edward Aschoff

Preseason lists are making their way back into our mainstream. It really is hard to believe that the 2012 college football season is a thing of the past. Before we know it, the 2013 season will be underway.

So it's time to start to take a deeper look at projections for the fall. Phil Steele has already churned out his preaseason all-conference teams, so, naturally, it's time to take a look at his preseason All-America teams.

The SEC is well represented on Steele's four teams, as nine players from the league made either the first-team offense, defense or special teams. Alabama led the way with four first-team selections.

Here's a look at Steele's first-team All-Americans:


QB: Johnny Manziel, Texas A&M
RB: T.J. Yeldon, Alabama
RB: De'Anthony Thomas, Oregon
WR: Marqise Lee, USC
WR: Sammy Watkins, Clemson
WR: Amari Cooper, Alabama
TE: Austin Seferian-Jenkins, Washington
C: B.J. Finney, Kansas State
OG: David Yankey, Stanford
OG: Cyril Richardson, Baylor
OT: Taylor Lewan, Michigan
OT: Jake Matthews, Texas A&M


DE: Jadeveon Clowney, South Carolina
DT: Will Sutton, Arizona State
DT: Louis Nix, Notre Dame
DE: Stephon Tuitt, Notre Dame
LB: Anthony Barr, UCLA
LB: C.J. Mosley, Alabama
LB: Kyle Van Noy, BYU
LB: Ryan Shazier, Ohio State
CB: Bradley Roby, Ohio State
CB: Jason Verrett, TCU
S: Ed Reynolds, Stanford
S: Ha Ha Clinton-Dix, Alabama


K: Cairo Santos, Tulane
P: Kyle Christy, Florida
KR: Tyler Lockett, Kansas State
PR: Marcus Murphy, Missouri
LS: Scott Thompson, NC State
AP: Dri Archer, Kent State

At final count, 27 SEC players made Steele's four All-America teams. Georgia running back Todd Gurley and Vanderbilt wide receiver Jordan Matthews, who were named first-team All-SEC members by Steele earlier this week, were named second-team All-Americans.

The SEC also had three offensive linemen make the second team: Gabe Jackson (Mississippi State), Cyrus Kouandjio (Alabama) and Antonio Richardson (Tennessee).

Alabama quarterback AJ McCarron is a third-team member, while Florida cornerback Loucheiz Purifoy and Ole Miss linebacker Denzel Nkemdiche are both fourth-team members.