SEC: John Henderson

All-SEC team from the BCS era

July, 5, 2012
As promised, we're rolling out our All-SEC team from the BCS era this morning.

These are the top players by position in the league going back to the 1998 season. To be eligible, players had to have played in the SEC for at least two seasons starting in 1998 and running through now. Current players were also not eligible.

We unveiled our top 11 offensive players and top 11 defensive players of the BCS era on Tuesday. Later today, we'll come up with a list (with your help) of those deserving players who just missed the cut.

Here we go with the All-SEC team:


SEC's best of the BCS era: Defense

July, 3, 2012
We’ve already unveiled our best SEC offensive players of the BCS era.

Now it’s on to the side of the ball that this league has come to be known for over the years – defense.

It was a nightmare trying to keep this list to just 11 players, but here’s what we came up with.

The players are listed alphabetically:

John Abraham, DE, South Carolina: He was a tremendous player on some really bad teams in college. Abraham led the Gamecocks in sacks for four straight seasons from 1996-99 and remains one of the NFL’s premier pass-rushers.

[+] EnlargeEric Berry
Kevin C. Cox/Getty ImagesEric Berry had 241 tackles and 14 interceptions in three seasons.
Eric Berry, S, Tennessee: A consensus All-American in both his sophomore and junior seasons in 2008 and 2009. Berry won the Jim Thorpe Award as the nation’s top defensive back in 2009 and finished his career with 14 interceptions.

Glenn Dorsey, DT, LSU: The anchor of LSU’s 2007 national championship defense. Dorsey capped his stellar career by winning the Outland Trophy, Lombardi Award, Bronko Nagurski Trophy and Lott Trophy as a senior in 2007.

John Henderson, DT, Tennessee: The Outland Trophy winner in 2000 and a two-time All-America selection. The 6-foot-7, 290-pound Henderson was also a finalist for the Outland Trophy in 2001 and finished his career with 38.5 tackles for loss

Rolando McClain, LB, Alabama: Nick Saban called McClain one of the smartest players he’s ever coached. He was plenty productive, too, and was a driving force behind the Crimson Tide’s unbeaten run to the 2009 national championship.

Reggie Nelson, S, Florida: The catalyst defensively for the Gators on their 2006 national championship team, Nelson was a consensus All-America selection that season and a finalist for the Jim Thorpe and Bronko Nagurski awards.

Patrick Peterson, CB, LSU: One of the most explosive football players in SEC history. Peterson was equally dynamic as a shut-down cornerback and return specialist. He won the Jim Thorpe and Bednarik awards as a junior in 2010.

David Pollack, DE, Georgia: Joined Herschel Walker as Georgia’s only three-time, first-team All-America selection. Pollack was a two-time SEC Defensive Player of the Year and cleaned up as a senior in 2004 by winning the Lombardi and Bednarik awards, as well as the Lott Trophy.

DeMeco Ryans, LB, Alabama: One of the most prolific tacklers in Alabama’s storied history. Ryans finished his career with 309 total tackles from 2002-05 and won the Lott Trophy in 2005 as college football’s IMPACT Defensive Player of the Year.

Lito Sheppard, CB, Florida: A dynamic playmaker for the Gators on both defense and as a return specialist on special teams. Sheppard was a first-team All-America selection in 2000 and a two-time All-SEC selection

Patrick Willis, LB, Ole Miss: The most honored defensive player in Ole Miss history. Willis was a two-time, first-team All-American and won the Butkus Award and Lambert Award in 2006 as the nation’s top linebacker.

The SEC's all-decade team

January, 22, 2010
We’ll take one final look at the last decade before we turn our attention to what lies ahead in the SEC.

On Tuesday, we ranked the top 10 players of the decade. So today, we unveil our all-decade team, which is broken down by position. The only rule was that a player had to play at least two seasons from 2000 to 2009 to be eligible.

This is what we came up with, so fire away:


QB Tim Tebow, Florida

RB Darren McFadden, Arkansas

RB Mark Ingram, Alabama

WR Josh Reed, LSU

WR Sidney Rice, South Carolina

AP Percy Harvin, Florida

TE Ben Watson, Georgia

OL Shawn Andrews, Arkansas

OL Marcus McNeil, Auburn

OL Andre Smith, Alabama

OL Michael Oher, Ole Miss

C Jonathan Luigs, Arkansas


DE David Pollack, Georgia

DE Alex Brown, Florida

DT Glenn Dorsey, LSU

DT John Henderson, Tennessee

LB Patrick Willis, Ole Miss

LB Rolando McClain, Alabama

LB DeMeco Ryans, Alabama

CB Joe Haden, Florida

CB Carlos Rogers, Auburn

S Eric Berry, Tennessee

S LaRon Landry, LSU


K Billy Bennett, Georgia

P Dustin Colquitt, Tennessee

KR Derek Abney, Kentucky

PR Javier Arenas, Alabama

Some of the SEC's best outside the Top 10

January, 19, 2010
Now that we’ve unveiled our players of the decade and moments of the decade in the SEC, it’s worth looking at those players that didn’t make the list that probably should have.

After all, when you start listing great players over an entire decade in the SEC, the names start pouring through your mind. There just are so many of them.

The guy who was the hardest for me to leave off the Top 10 was Auburn running back Carnell “Cadillac” Williams. He rushed for 45 career touchdowns and teamed with Ronnie Brown on that unbeaten 2004 Auburn club to form one of the best running back combos in SEC history.

Right behind Williams was Georgia quarterback David Greene, who was the winningest quarterback in major college football history until Colt McCoy passed him this season. Greene remains the SEC career leader with 11,528 passing yards from 2001-04.

I also thought long and hard about Arkansas offensive tackle Shawn Andrews, Alabama offensive tackle Andre Smith and Auburn offensive tackle Marcus McNeil. They would have been my top three offensive linemen.

Tennessee defensive tackle John Henderson won the Outland Trophy in 2000 and was a finalist in 2001. Leaving him off was difficult. Alabama linebacker DeMeco Ryans was another outstanding defender that just missed the cut.

Another quarterback who deserves mention is Vanderbilt’s Jay Cutler, especially when you look at the numbers he put up during the 2005 season and the way he helped elevate the program.

Georgia's Matthew Stafford was the No. 1 overall pick in the 2009 draft, and Kentucky's Andre Woodson threw 79 career touchdown passes, ranking him fifth all-time in the SEC.

Two of the best receivers of the decade were Vanderbilt’s Earl Bennett and LSU’s Josh Reed.

There are many more, too. But I just wanted to provide a glimpse of some of the other great players in this conference who were considered.