SEC: Mike Tranghese

Arkansas AD to lead committee

October, 14, 2013

Arkansas athletic director Jeff Long will have the distinction of being the first chairman of the College Football Playoff selection committee.

Sources said the 13-person panel charged with selecting the four teams that will go on to the playoff following the 2014 regular season will be announced in a Wednesday news conference.

ESPN and The Associated Press have identified the other members of the committee as:
  • Wisconsin athletic director Barry Alvarez
  • Retired Lt. Gen. Michael Gould, the former Air Force Academy superintendent
  • USC athletic director Pat Haden
  • Former NCAA executive vice president Tom Jernstedt
  • West Virginia athletic director Oliver Luck
  • Former NFL and Ole Miss quarterback Archie Manning
  • Former Nebraska athletic director/coach Tom Osborne
  • Clemson athletic director Dan Radakovich
  • Former U.S. Secretary of State Condoleezza Rice
  • Former Big East commissioner Mike Tranghese
  • Former USA Today reporter Steve Wieberg
  • Former Stanford/Notre Dame/Washington coach Tyrone Willingham



Saturday, 12/20
Monday, 12/22
Tuesday, 12/23
Wednesday, 12/24
Friday, 12/26
Saturday, 12/27
Monday, 12/29
Tuesday, 12/30
Wednesday, 12/31
Thursday, 1/1
Friday, 1/2
Saturday, 1/3
Sunday, 1/4
Monday, 1/12