Luck, Shaw honored by Pac-12


Stanford quarterback Andrew Luck and head coach David Shaw took home two of the Pac-12 conference's major awards, as voted on by the conference head coaches.

Luck was named offensive player of the year and Shaw was named coach of the year.

Luck capped his season by completing 261-of-373 balls for 3,170 yards, 35 touchdowns and nine interceptions. The Heisman Trophy candidate becomes the fifth player in conference history to win the award twice, joining Reggie Bush, Ruben Mayes, John Elway and Charles White as two-time winners. He finished atop the Pac-12 in passing efficiency (167.5) and ranks fifth in the NCAA.

Shaw, who is in his first year as head coach with Stanford, guided the Cardinal to a second-straight 11-1 record -- the first back-to-back 10-win seasons in program history.

Joining Luck on the All Pac-12 first-team offense are tight end Coby Fleener (team-high 10 touchdowns), guard David DeCastro and tackle Jonathan Martin. It's the second straight year DeCastro and Martin have been honored.

Linebacker Chase Thomas and safety Delano Howell were named to the first-team defense.

Running back Stepfan Taylor was the lone Cardinal on the second-team offense, along with defensive end Ben Gardner on the second-team defense and kicker Jordan Williamson as a second-team specialist.

Linebacker Max Bergen and wide receivers Ty Montgomery and Drew Terrell received honorable mention honors for their work on special teams, along with tackle Cameron Fleming, fullback Ryan Hewitt, defensive end Matt Masifilo, safety Michael Thomas, guard David Yankey and tight end Levine Toilolo.