TCU 'Rose' to the occasion

The TCU Horned Frogs won on one of college football’s biggest stages Saturday. Their program has been one of the best in the country over the past several seasons. A few notes to illustrate that point:

TCU has won 11, 12 and now 13 games in successive seasons since 2008. Dating back to the 2007 season, TCU has won 39 of its last 42 games.

TCU is 66-11 since 2005; that's three more wins than any other BCS Texas school (Texas, 63).

TCU is now 16-3 against BCS AQ schools since 2002, and 3-0 against Big Ten teams in that span.

Non-AQ schools are now 4-1 all-time in BCS Bowl games when facing AQ schools. The only loss came in the 2008 Sugar Bowl when Georgia blew out Hawaii 41-10.

TCU finishes the season undefeated, marking the 8th time in the BCS Era that a team finished the season undefeated and did not win a National Championship. Only one of the previous eight times has the team who finished undefeated been a team from an AQ-conference, and that was Auburn in 2004.

FBS Teams Finished Season Undefeated, Did Not Win National Championship Since 1998

Meanwhile, Wisconsin’s offense met their match in the No. 1 defense in the FBS this season. After averaging 58.9 points per game over their previous four, the Badgers posted a season-low 19 points. It’s just the third time over the last two seasons that Wisconsin has been held under 20 points.

The loss also caps off a horrific day for the Big Ten, who went 0-5, and were outscored by a total of 102 points.

Northwestern allowed 552 yards and 45 points in a loss to Texas Tech. Michigan State suffered the worst bowl loss by a top ten team since the 1991 Cotton Bowl in its 49-7 loss to Alabama. Michigan allowed 52 points to Mississippi State, the most they have ever allowed in a bowl game. Penn State committed five turnovers and were outscored 17-0 in the fourth quarter by Florida.

This is the first time that the Big Ten has gone winless on New Year's Day since 2002. That year, LSU beat Illinois in the Sugar Bowl, Tennessee beat Michigan in the Citrus Bowl, and South Carolina beat Ohio State in the Outback Bowl.