Brewers party like it's 1982

Ryan Braun's tiebreaking three-run homer in the bottom of the eighth inning Friday night gave the Milwaukee Brewers a 4-1 lead and the eventual win against the Florida Marlins.

Less than an hour later, when the Chicago Cubs closed out a 5-1 victory over the St. Louis Cardinals, the Brewers officially clinched the NL Central title, which is their first division championship since winning the AL East in 1982.

So, how long has it been for the Brewers since they won a division? Brewers All-Stars Prince Fielder and Braun, who each homered Friday night, weren't even born yet. And manager Ron Roenicke was in his second year as a player in the majors with the Dodgers.

Brewers' Postseason Results
Franchise History

This is the 43rd year of Brewers baseball, and they've now been a member of four different divisions -- the AL West, AL East, AL Central and NL Central -- but this is just their fourth postseason appearance all time.

The Brewers last made the postseason as the NL wild card in 2008, losing in the NLDS to the eventual-champion Phillies. But the last time they entered the playoffs as a division winner during the 1982 season, the Brewers advanced to the World Series.

While Braun provided the offensive heroics, Yovani Gallardo pitched a gem with 11 strikeouts and one run allowed. Gallardo, who had 25 strikeouts in his previous two starts combined, became the first Brewers pitcher in franchise history with three straight starts of at least 10 strikeouts, according to the Elias Sports Bureau.

The Brewers now have 92 wins, just the fifth time they have reached that mark in team history, and three shy of the franchise record held by the 1979 and 1982 teams. The Brew Crew also won their 53rd home game, matching the 1992 team for the second-most wins at home, and one shy of the franchise record set in 1978.