Crimson Tide off their Mark in 2010?

University of Alabama running back Mark Ingram, the 2009 Heisman Trophy winner, will miss the Tide's season opener Saturday with a knee injury. Ingram is the third straight Heisman winner to return to school, thus giving him a chance to repeat and match Ohio State's Archie Griffin, the only two-time winner. The previous two returnees had much different results when it came to their repeat campaign.

2009: Mark Ingram -- Will miss 2010 season opener

2008: Sam Bradford -- 3 games played, 2 TD in 2009

2007: Tim Tebow -- Finished 3rd in the voting in 2008

Greg McElroy, 2009 regular season
Throws of 15+ Yards

On top of the production that Alabama loses from Ingram himself, his presence helps change the game for quarterback Greg McElroy. Entering the BCS Championship game last season, faking a handoff to the Heisman Trophy winner (and others) helped McElroy get the ball downfield. On big plays, the Tide was much more successful with the use of play-action fakes.