Thursday, June 10, 2010
Why commish couldn't overrule ump
Was on a plane this evening, just trying to catch up on e-mail and some reading, when Craig Wright blew my mind. From Craig's response to a reader who asked for his take on The Perfect Game That Wasn't:
You now know that the Commissioner is not going to change the call, which is absolutely the right decision. That would have been totally unprecedented and it would not really be in the spirit of the broad powers given to the Commissioner. The rules are very clear that this decision is to be the judgment of the umpire at that point in the game. What if it had been the other way around, that umpire Jim Joyce had called the batter out but the replay showed he was safe? Would you take away the perfect game and replay the game from that point somewhere down the road? No, of course not.
Craig blows my mind every week. If you want your mind blown, too, subscribe to one (or both) of Craig's newsletters.