Verlander aces winner-take-all test

October, 12, 2012
The Detroit Tigers rode Justin Verlander all the way to the ALCS.

The reigning AL Cy Young winner struck out 11 in a 6-0 shutout of the Oakland Athletics in Game 5.

That’s the most strikeouts in a shutout in a winner-take-all game in postseason history. The old record belonged to Sandy Koufax, who struck out 10 in a shutout in Game 7 of the 1965 World Series.

In fact, Cliff Lee, who did so in the 2010 ALDS, is the only other pitcher with 11 strikeouts in a winner-take-all game.
Verlander’s fastball topped out at 98 mph, and accounted for seven of the 11 strikeouts. The A’s were 0-12 with seven strikeouts on at-bats ending in a pitch out of the zone.

Stephen Drew was Verlander’s primary victim, striking out in all four of his at-bats. The only other players to do that in a winner-take-all postseason game are Ben Grieve (2000) and Jerry Reuss (1981).

With this performance, Verlander joins Lee as the only pitchers with consecutive starts with 11 or more strikeouts in a single postseason. Verlander’s 22 strikeouts set an LDS record.

Prior to Verlander, only two Tigers had struck out 11 batters in a postseason game (Bill Donovan in 1907 and Joe Coleman in 1972). Verlander has now done it three times. In fact, only Randy Johnson (four) has more 11-strikeout postseason games.
This was the first postseason shutout by a Tigers pitcher since Coleman in 1972. Bobo Newson (1940) and George Mullin (1909) are the only other Tigers with a postseason shutout.

Verlander was the fifth reigning Cy Young winner to start a winner-take-all postseason game.

The previous four (Roy Halladay, Barry Zito, David Cone, Steve Carlton) all saw their teams lose.

Overpowering the A’s all game, Verlander made sure that couldn’t happen.



You must be signed in to post a comment

Already have an account?