Print and Go Back TrueHoop [Print without images]

Tuesday, February 28, 2012
Award-winning NBA writing

By Kevin Arnovitz

At All-Star Weekend in Orlando, Professional Basketball Writers Association president Doug Smith of the Toronto Star announced the winners of the organization's annual writing awards.

Winners were announced in three categories:

Game story

1. Marc Stein of on Dirk Nowitzki's roller coaster of emotions during and after Game 6 of the NBA Finals.

2. Mark Woods writing for on Serge Ibaka and a very deep Spanish team beating France for the EuroBasket gold medal.

3. Kerry Eggers of the Portland Tribune on Brandon Roy and the remarkable rally in Game 4 that evened the Blazers-Mavs series.


1. Fran Blinebury of reflecting on the highs and lows of Yao Ming's injury-ravaged career.

2. Kevin Ding of the OC Register on the links between Kobe Bryant and LeBron James after Miami's fade in the NBA Finals.

3. Henry Abbott of's TrueHoop on the facts and myths of Kobe Bryant's performance in the clutch.


1. Darnell Mayberry of the Oklahoman tracing Russell Westbrook's rise to All-Star status.

2. Scott Howard-Cooper of with an in-depth look at the soon-to-be-drafted Bismack Biyombo.

3. Sam Amick of on Adam Morrison's attempts to resurrect his pro career in faraway Serbia.