Brewers pay tribute to Bud Selig

Commissioner, who went to bat for Milwaukee, honored with statue

Updated: August 25, 2010, 2:07 AM ET
By Gordon Edes | ESPNBoston.com

MILWAUKEE -- Kenesaw Mountain Landis, the first commissioner of baseball, had the game's MVP award named after him, as well as an elementary school in Logansport, Ind.

Broadcasters elected to baseball's Hall of Fame receive the Ford Frick award. The University of Kentucky medical center is named after A.O. Happy Chandler. Peter Ueberroth was named Time magazine's Person of the Year and has a gymnasium named after him at the Sage School, a prep school of which he was a founder.

And ...

Read full story


You must be signed in to post a comment

Already have an account?


  • Tough Lesson
    The Bruins found out the hard way that the Red Wings won't go down easy.
  • Lacking Momentum
    The Orioles got to John Lackey early and often, and the Sox couldn't recover.
  • Why They'll Run
    Six people impacted by the bombings share what motivated them to enter.
  • Cloudy Vision
    Danny isn't sure what the C's will look like, but he thinks they'll be better.
  • Change Of Heart
    After initially balking at returning, Rita Jeptoo will defend her Boston title.