Discussion

David Ortiz lands some creative RBIs

Red Sox slugger adds to count with 40-foot grounder, scoring change from MLB

Updated: August 10, 2011, 2:12 PM ET
By Gordon Edes | ESPNBoston.com

MINNEAPOLIS -- The MLB powers-that-be giveth, and they taketh away.

So what happens Wednesday if David Ortiz arrives at Target Field and learns that his game-deciding 40-foot squibber, originally ruled a hit in Tuesday night's 4-3 win over the Twins, is changed to an error, which by most objective measures it was?

"Oh my God," Ortiz said, cackling. "Wait till tomorrow. The scorer might say, '[Expletive] this, I ain't [messing] with Papi."'

There were long stretches ...

Read full story

Comments

You must be signed in to post a comment

Already have an account?

EDITORS' PICKS

ALSO SEE

MORE MLB HEADLINES