Jonathan Toews wins Selke trophy

Updated: June 14, 2013, 11:20 PM ET
By Scott Powers | ESPNChicago.com

Chicago Blackhawks forward Jonathan Toews won the Frank J. Selke Trophy, given to the best defensive forward, on Friday.

Toews received 75 first-place votes on 179 ballots and edged Boston Bruins forward Patrice Bergeron by 10 points. Toews finished with 1,260 points, and Bergeron had 1,250 points to go with 78 first-place votes. Detroit Red Wings forward Pavel Datsyuk finished third with 737 points.

The award is voted on by the Professional Hockey Writers' Association.

"It ...

Read full story


You must be signed in to post a comment

Already have an account?


  • Grade The Cubs' Progress
    Year 3 of the rebuild brought more pieces of the core to Wrigley while others took a step back. How would you grade the Cubs?