Briggs to start Pro Bowl

CHICAGO -- Linebacker Lance Briggs has been selected as a starter in the 2010 Pro Bowl, the team announced on Tuesday. It was the fifth consecutive Pro Bowl selection for Briggs.

Briggs is just the fourth linebacker in franchise history to be selected to five straight Pro Bowls, joining Hall of Famers Dick Butkus, Bill George and Mike Singletary. Briggs, who is leading the team with 135 tackles this season, is the 14th player overall to be voted to five Pro Bowls as a member of the Bears organizations, as well as the 12th to be selected five years in a row. Briggs is also the sixth Bears linebacker to be voted to at least five Pro Bowls (Butkus, Joe Fortunato, George, Singletary and Brian Urlacher.).

Briggs has reached the 100-tackle mark for the sixth consecutive year, and has added a career-high 2½ sacks, seven tackles for losses, and an interception.

As for the other players selected for the Pro Bowl, Minnesota quarterback Brett Favre is among eight Minnesota Vikings selected on Tuesday, while Peyton Manning is one of six Indianapolis Colts on the AFC squad.

It will be Favre's 11th Pro Bowl and the 10th for Manning. No other quarterbacks have been to 10 all-star games.

Tennessee running back Chris Johnson, the league's leading rusher, also is on the AFC team, along with NFL receptions leader Wes Welker of New England.

Vikings running back Adrian Peterson, the league's top scorer among non-kickers, will be in the NFC backfield, where New Orleans' Drew Brees, the NFL's top-rated passer, is the starting quarterback.

The Pro Bowl will be played Jan. 31, one week before the Super Bowl, in Miami.

Information from the Associated Press was used in this report