Raffi Torres in clear for hit

Despite anger from the Chicago Blackhawks,
Vancouver Canucks forward Raffi Torres will not face further discipline for his hit on Brent Seabrook Sunday night.

Torres, who had just returned from a four-game suspension for a similar hit on Edmonton's Jordan Eberle, laid out Seabrook with a shoulder-to-head hit midway through the second period. The Canucks won 3-2 to take a 3-0 series lead.

"With his history, I think that hit deserves a suspension," Seabrook said Monday. "I don't think he was trying to hit me in the head, but if the league isn't going to suspend somebody for that I just don't really understand that."

Seabrook doesn't agree with basing punishment on the severity of the injury.

But NHL senior executive vice president of hockey operations Colin Campbell said the hit did not merit a suspension.

"When Rule 48 [Illegal Check to the Head] was unanimously adopted by the general managers in March 2010, there was no intention to make this type of shoulder hit to the head illegal," he said in a statement. "In fact, at that time, we distributed a video to all players and teams that showed a similar hit on a defenseman by an attacking forward coming from the opposite direction behind the net and stated that this is a 'legal play.'

"This hit meets none of the criteria that would subject Torres to supplemental discipline, including an application of Rule 48: He did not charge his opponent or leave his feet to deliver this check. He did not deliver an elbow or extended forearm and this hit was not 'late.'"

Torres was assessed a minor interference penalty on the play.

The Blackhawks were incensed that he did not appear to make any attempt to play the puck and went right after Seabrook.

"I have no problem with [no further punishment], as far as how the league views it," Blackhawks coach Joel Quenneville said. "That's their job. They know the standards, they know the criteria.

"I just think the call on the ice is where we got hurt the most, knowing that it was a major penalty. [With] an impact hit like that you can be exposed to severe injuries. That's the intent of the major call."

After the game, Blackhawks captain Jonathan Toews said: "There is a time for everything and we'll deal with it accordingly."

Game 4 is Tuesday night in Chicago.

"Hits like that, I'm usually the first guy to give the guy the benefit of the doubt, but in this situation I just look at the player making the hit and his intent," Patrick Sharp said. "He played eight or nine minutes, and I don't think he touched the puck. His job out there is to create big hits. He got a penalty, so obviously it wasn't a clean hit. I think its pretty clear what his intentions were."

ESPNChicago.com's Jesse Rogers contributed to this report.