ESPN Network: ESPN.com | NBA.com | NHL.com | WNBA.com | ABCSports | EXPN | INSIDER | FANTASY   




Wednesday, November 19, 2003
ESPN Classic Colorado


Gary Barnett
Gary Barnett's Buffs lost their first two games by a total of nine points.
ESPN Classic brought its road show to Denver on Tuesday, July 25. In conjunction with AT&T, ESPN Classic hosted a viewing party at the Sports Column in downtown Denver to kick off a celebration of Colorado sports.

ESPN Classic televises the greatest sporting events, most memorable stories and heroes of all time. At Tuesday's event at the Sports Column, some of Colorado's greatest sports legends joined us to celebrate the classic sports moments in Colorado's history. University of Colorado head coach Gary Barnett and Denver Nuggets head coach Dan Issel attended this special event along with former Denver Bronco Karl Mecklenberg and former Denver Nugget David Thompson.

In addition to the party, ESPN Classic will devote 7 1/2 hours of programming on Saturday, July 29 to some of Colorado's greatest games and sports legends. Here is the schedule followed by a brief reminder of what made these games great.

Classic Colorado Day on ESPN Classic
Saturday, July 29
Time Game
11:30 a.m. ET (9:30 a.m. MT) Super Bowl XXXII Highlights: Denver Broncos vs. Green Bay Packers
noon ET (10 a.m. MT) 1996 Stanley Cup Finals Game 4: Colorado Avalanche @ Florida Panthers
2 p.m. ET (noon MT) 1994 NBA Playoffs: First Round Game 5 - Denver Nuggets @ Seattle SuperSonics
4 p.m. ET (2 p.m. MT) 1994 Colorado Buffaloes @ Michigan Wolverines
6 p.m. ET (4 p.m. MT) John Elway's Greatest Comebacks

A proper beginning to our celebration of Colorado sports is highlights from Super Bowl XXXII. John Elway and the Denver Broncos finally reached the summit of the NFL on January 25, 1998 beating Green Bay 31-24. After losses in their previous four visits to the game, the underdog Broncos upset the defending champion Packers. Terrell Davis led the Broncos with 157 yards on 30 carries and 3 TDs.

Relive another championship for the Rocky Mountain state at 10 a.m. MT. The Colorado Avalanche became Stanley Cup champions in their first season in the Mile High City by sweeping the Florida Panthers. In this Cup-clinching Game 4 win, Uwe Krupp scored the game-winner at 4:31 of the third overtime. Paced by the terrific goaltending of Patrick Roy, Colorado won the longest 1-0 game in the history of the Stanley Cup Finals.

Dan Issel
Issel claims he's not worried about his job now.
At noon MT, we present Game 5 of the 1994 first-round NBA playoff series between the Denver Nuggets and Seattle SuperSonics. Led by Dikembe Mutombo, Denver shocked the #1-seeded SuperSonics by winning a 98-94 overtime thriller in Seattle and taking the series.

At 2 p.m. MT, ESPN Classic presents one of the best finishes in NCAA football history. The Colorado Buffaloes trailed the Michigan Wolverine 21-20 in Ann Arbor with time left for one play. Kordell Stewart dropped back and bombed a 64-yard TD pass to Michael Westbrook to give Colorado a stunning 27-21 win. Stewart's desperation heave traveled 70 yards in the air and rivals Doug Flutie's "Hail Mary" and California's kick off return as the greatest finishes in college football history.

At 4 p.m. MT, we conclude by bringing you John Elway's greatest comebacks. The program takes you through all of Elway's amazing feats, including "The Drive" in Cleveland.

ESPN Classic is the only network that features past Super Bowls, World Series, NBA Finals, Stanley Cup Championships, heavyweight championship fights, NCAA Final Fours, Olympics, NASCAR, Grand Slam tennis events, The Masters and much more. The greatest moments in sports, larger-than-life personalities, history-making games and epic events are available to relive for the first time or the 100th time.





Send this story to a friend | Most sent stories