David Cutcliffe is AFCA coach of year

Updated: January 13, 2014, 7:02 PM ET
Associated Press

INDIANAPOLIS -- Duke coach David Cutcliffe and former North Dakota State coach Craig Bohl have been selected national coaches of the year by the American Football Coaches Association.

Cutcliffe led the Blue Devils to a 10-4 season that included their first appearance in the ACC title game as well as the Chick-fil-A Bowl.

Bohl, who left North Dakota State for Wyoming, led the Bison to their third straight FCS national championship.

Adam Dorrell won the Division II award after leading Northwest Missouri State to a 15-0 record and the national title.

Lance Leipold of Wisconsin-Whitewater was the coach of the year in Division III. The Warhawks went unbeaten and won a fifth Division III national title. Mike Woodley won for NAIA after leading Grand View to its first national title.

Copyright 2014 by The Associated Press


Use a Facebook account to add a comment, subject to Facebook's Terms of Service and Privacy Policy. Your Facebook name, photo & other personal information you make public on Facebook will appear with your comment, and may be used on ESPN's media platforms. Learn more.