Kirk Cousins among award recipients

DALLAS -- Michigan State quarterback Kirk Cousins is one of 16 recipients of the National Football Foundation's scholar-athlete awards.

The honorees -- who win $18,000 postgraduate scholarships -- also comprise the list of finalists for the 2011 William V. Campbell Trophy, which recognizes the top scholar-athlete in the nation.

The NFF and College Hall of Fame announced the recipients.

The other award winners are: Georgia's Drew Butler, Delta State's Micah Davis, Navy's John Dowd, Northwestern State's Yaser Elqutub, South Dakota's Chris Ganious, Colorado School of Mines' Clay Garcia, Northern Illinois' Chandler Harnish, Kansas State's Tysyn Hartman, South Florida's Chaz Hine, Purdue's Joe Holland, Washington State's Jared Karstetter, Army's Andrew Rodriguez, Texas A&M's Ryan Tannehill, Yale's Patrick Witt and Dubuque's Michael Zweifel.