Official backs Stanford-ND review
The national coordinator of NCAA football officials says the decision to uphold the ruling on the field for the last play of the Stanford-Notre Dame game was correct.
Field officials ruled Stanford running back Stepfan Taylor's progress had been stopped before he reached the ball across the goal line for what would have been a potential tying touchdown on fourth-and-goal in overtime.
Replay officials reviewed the play and the call was confirmed, giving Notre Dame a 20-13 win Saturday.
National coordinator of officials Rogers Redding told the AP in a phone interview Tuesday there was nothing unusual about the way officials on the field or in the replay booth handled the decisive play.
He also says that from the replay he saw, he "would have to let that call stand."
"Most of the comments I heard were, 'It looked like to me that' or 'It sure looked like this.' The replay official has to say, 'There is no doubt in my mind.' "
Redding said a runner's progress is reviewable only on plays that could produce first downs or touchdowns.
So in the case of the last play of Notre Dame's goal-line stand against the Cardinal, the fact that Taylor was lying on a pile of defenders and his knees were never down, or that one of his elbows might have touched the turf before he stuck the ball into the end zone, should have been irrelevant to the replay officials.
Only the runner's progress being stopped was reviewable, Redding said. Replay officials don't have access to audio and cannot determine whether a whistle has blown the play dead.
Notre Dame players and coach Brian Kelly contended that Taylor's last reach came after the play was blown dead. A couple of Notre Dame players, including Manti Te'o, could be seen on replays starting to celebrate right before Taylor put the ball across the line.
Redding did say that replay officials can use field officials' signals as visual evidence of when a play has been stopped. On one replay angle, the side judge could be seen moving toward the pile of players to spot the ball, just as Taylor made his last reach.
"He's not going to charge in unless he's sure in his mind that the play is over," he said. "That's another indicator that the play is dead."
Redding explained though that the rules do allow for some play in the seconds after a whistle.
"There's a provision in the rules that allows for the immediate continuing action, and that makes the play reviewable," he said.
The best examples of immediate continuing action come on questionable fumbles. If a ball comes loose, but the officials on the field rule the ball carrier was down, a defense can still be awarded a recovery if the players kept playing in the seconds after the whistle.
So if a whistle was blown by officials during the final play between Notre Dame and Stanford on Saturday, it would not rule out a replay review.
Kelly admitted that he has not asked for an explanation of the replay but claimed that the Fighting Irish would have prevented Taylor from scoring if the field officials had not whistled the play dead.
"We simply feel like we had made that play," Kelly said. "We had guys in position to make the play. If the whistle had not blown, we feel like we were in good position to continue the play. We heard the whistle, and the play was over."
Redding said there was nothing about the final sequence in South Bend that set off alarms about the officiating.
From an officiating standpoint," he said, "it was routine."
Information from The Associated Press was used in this report.
MORE COLLEGE FOOTBALL HEADLINES
- Kiffin to remain Bama OC, won't jump to NFL
- Ohio St. celebrates title in front of 45K fans
- Abdullah leads North by South in Senior Bowl
- Irish's Hardy to transfer after academic inquiry
MOST SENT STORIES ON ESPN.COM
- Nike Men's Stanford Cardinal Rose Bowl Game Mascot T-shirt