Starting lineups for LSU-Texas

June, 24, 2009
OMAHA, Neb. -- We're less than an hour from the start of the championship game of the College World Series, and I'm happy to report the skies above Rosenblatt Stadium are sunny and clear.

The weather forecast calls for about a 40-percent chance of thunderstorms around 7 p.m. CT, and it's awfully hot again. But as of right now, there are no signs of pending bad weather and radar shows most of the storms are to the south of Omaha. That's certainly good news after last night's game was delayed 1 hour, 34 minutes because of heavy storms.

The LSU Tigers just finished up batting practice, and Texas' players are beginning to take the field.

The winner of tonight's game will win the national championship. LSU is aiming for its sixth title (and first since 2000); the Longhorns are trying for their seventh championship (and first since 2005).

The starting lineups are out, and Texas coach Augie Garrido is sticking with the same lineup he used in Tuesday night's 5-1 victory over the Tigers.

LSU coach Paul Mainieri has made a few noticeable changes. Ryan Schimpf, who started at first base last night, is back in left field. Speedy Leon Landry is back on the bench, and Sean Ochinko is back at first base. Right fielder Jared Mitchell has moved up a spot to No. 5 in the batting order, and freshman Mikie Mahtook has dropped a spot to No. 6.

The Tigers will start right-handed sophomore Anthony Ranaudo, who will be making his third start at the CWS. He is 1-0 in his previous two starts in Omaha with a 1.93 ERA in 9 1/3 innings.

The Longhorns will start sophomore Cole Green, who is also making his third start of the CWS. He pitched seven innings against Southern Miss, allowing six hits and three earned runs. Green pitched six innings in the 4-3 victory over Arizona State, allowing eight hits and two earned runs.

Here are the starting lineups for tonight's championship game of the College World Series:

LSU Tigers (55-17)
2B DJ LeMahieu (.348, 5 HR, 43 RBI)
LF Ryan Schimpf (.336, 22 HR, 68 RBI)
DH Blake Dean (.332, 17 HR, 70 RBI)
1B Sean Ochinko (.323, 8 HR, 54 RBI)
RF Jared Mitchell (.329, 10 HR, 47 RBI)
CF Mikie Mahtook (.319, 7 HR, 37 RBI)
C Micah Gibbs (.291, 6 HR, 42 RBI)
3B Derek Helenihi (.265, 4 HR, 22 RBI)
SS Austin Nola (.239, 3 HR, 17 RBI)

RHP Anthony Ranaudo (11-3, 2.87 ERA)

Texas Longhorns (50-15-1)
3B Michael Torres (.296, 5 HR, 33 RBI)
2B Travis Tucker (.295, 3 HR, 30 RBI)
1B Brandon Belt (.329, 8 HR, 43 RBI)
DH Russell Moldenhauer (.262, 4 HR, 14 RBI)
C Cameron Rupp (.292, 11 HR, 45 RBI)
RF Kevin Keyes (.305, 8 HR, 44 RBI)
CF Connor Rowe (.277, 8 HR, 40 RBI)
LF Preston Clark (.278, 3 HR, 26 RBI)
SS Brandon Loy (.293, 0 HR, 30 RBI)

RHP Cole Green (5-3, 3.07 ERA)



You must be signed in to post a comment

Already have an account?