Discussion

MLB awards hit to David Ortiz

Updated: May 14, 2014, 7:04 PM ET
By Richard Durrett | ESPNDallas.com

Major League Baseball has changed the call on a ball hit by David Ortiz in the seventh inning of Yu Darvish's near no-hitter last Friday from an error to a single.

The ball, which was hit in the air to right field and fell between second baseman Rougned Odor and right fielder Alex Rios, was initially ruled an error by official scorer Steve Weller.

The play ended Darvish's perfect-game bid but kept the Rangers' ace's no-hitter intact. Darvish carried ...

Read full story

Comments

Use a Facebook account to add a comment, subject to Facebook's Terms of Service and Privacy Policy. Your Facebook name, photo & other personal information you make public on Facebook will appear with your comment, and may be used on ESPN's media platforms. Learn more.


EDITORS' PICKS

  • Asking Too Much?
    As the Rangers go for a series win on the road against the Mariners, they'll need Ross Detwiler -- 9.00 ERA -- to come through.

MORE MLB HEADLINES