Discussion

Umps admit they blew Hamilton HR call

Updated: May 20, 2010, 1:32 AM ET
By Calvin Watkins | ESPNDallas.com

ARLINGTON, Texas -- Crew chief Dana DeMuth said the umpires made a mistake in ruling that Texas Rangers outfielder Josh Hamilton hit a double instead of a home run on Wednesday night.

Television replays showed Hamilton's shot leading off the fourth inning against the Baltimore Orioles cleared the 14-foot fence in left before ricocheting back onto the field. The ball hit a support beam that connects the left-field scoreboard to the wall.

Hamilton was stranded after the next ...

Read full story

Comments

You must be signed in to post a comment

Already have an account?

EDITORS' PICKS

  • Carr's Inspiration
    Brandon Carr recently lost his mother to breast cancer, but her courageous spirit is always with him.

MORE MLB HEADLINES