Playoff plan to run through 2025

Updated: June 27, 2012, 1:12 PM ET
By Heather Dinich | ESPN.com

WASHINGTON, D.C. -- A four-team playoff for college football has been formally approved by a presidential oversight committee, a dramatic change for the sport that will begin in 2014 and continue through the 2025 season. The four teams will be chosen by a selection committee, the semifinals will be held at current bowl sites and the national championship game will be awarded to the highest bidder.

The 11 conference commissioners watched on Tuesday afternoon as Notre Dame athletic ...

Read full story


You must be signed in to post a comment

Already have an account?