Discussion

Leija's corner made right decision to stop

Updated: January 9, 2002, 2:50 PM ET
By Max Kellerman | Special to ESPN.com

Jesse James Leija said all the right things following his technical decision win over Mickey Ward. He said that in his mind there was no winner, that the fight was just getting started when the referee ruled that it had to stop.

When a fight is stopped before the completion of five rounds as the result of a cut caused by an accidental headbutt, it is a frequently applied rule that whoever is ahead on the judges' scorecards at the time of the stoppage wins. Leija's corner brought the severity ...

Read full story

Comments

You must be signed in to post a comment

Already have an account?

ALSO SEE

MORE BOXING HEADLINES