Smith wins NBA sportsmanship award

Updated: June 12, 2002, 3:48 PM ET
Associated Press

NEW YORK -- Steve Smith won the NBA's Sportsmanship Award on Wednesday.

Smith, who was traded by the Portland Trail Blazers to the San Antonio Spurs last summer for Derek Anderson, won the award over P.J. Brown of the Hornets, followed by LaPhonso Ellis of the Miami Heat and Shawn Marion of the Phoenix Suns.

Smith is the third San Antonio player to be chosen for the honor. Teammate David Robinson won last year, while former Spur Avery Johnson won in 1998.

Smith received 65 of ...

Read full story


You must be signed in to post a comment

Already have an account?