Venus will regret missed chances

Updated: June 26, 2004, 6:44 PM ET
By Mary Joe Fernandez | Special to ESPN.com

WIMBLEDON, England -- Thursday's match between Venus Williams and Karolina Sprem was dramatic. Karolina Sprem hit the ball so hard -- taking it to Venus. Sprem saves set points in the first set. She takes the lead in the second set -- but Venus gets it back. And then in the deciding tiebreak, the chair umpire makes a huge mistake: He awards an extra point to Sprem.

The players were so confused that they went along with it. It's shocking that at Centre Court Wimbledon this can happen, and ...

Read full story


You must be signed in to post a comment

Already have an account?