Lyle, Kaat, Tiant added to list

Updated: December 7, 2004, 12:39 PM ET
Associated Press

COOPERSTOWN, N.Y. -- Gil Hodges, Tony Oliva and Ron Santo headline the 25 candidates on the 2005 ballot for the Hall of Fame Veterans Committee.

Sparky Lyle, Jim Kaat, Luis Tiant and Smoky Joe Wood have been added to the ballot this year.

In its first vote two years ago, the reconstituted committee failed to give any of the candidates the necessary 75 percent vote needed for election.

Hodges, the former Brooklyn first baseman and New York Mets manager, was listed ...

Read full story


You must be signed in to post a comment

Already have an account?