Results will be announced Feb. 22

Updated: December 13, 2004, 4:38 PM ET
Associated Press

COOPERSTOWN, N.Y. -- Hall of Fame pitcher Dizzy Dean, whose transition from the playing field to the radio booth helped popularize baseball broadcasting, is among 10 finalists for the 2005 Ford C. Frick Award, the Hall of Fame announced Monday.

The other nine candidates are Tom Cheek, Jerry Coleman, Ken Coleman, Gene Elston, Tony Kubek, France Laux, Graham McNamee, Dave Niehaus and Ron Santo.

Cheek, Jerry Coleman, Niehaus and Santo are active broadcasters.

Dean, who was elected ...

Read full story


You must be signed in to post a comment

Already have an account?