Umpire was wrong, but replay is worse
Upon further review, you play it where it lies. Upon further review, the whole bleedin' situation stands as called.
Do umpires make mistakes? You bet they do -- along with every pitcher, catcher, fielder, hitter and manager who ever stepped onto a baseball diamond to attempt this infernal game, where a guy who chokes seven out of 10 times at the plate is a .300 hitter and bound for glory.
In other news, they're all humanoids, every last one of 'em. Mistakes, the little annoying ones ...
Read full story
Angels catcher Josh Paul "trapped" a swinging third strike to A.J. Pierzynski, who ended up on first base, leading to Chicago's victory in Game 2 of the ALCS. Story
• Caple: Raw deal for Angels
• Baseball Tonight's take
• Vote: Was Pierzynski out?
• Umpires speak out
• Umpires' transcript
• Sox players about talk it
• Second Guessing: Blame game
• The Pulse: Windy City reaction
• Neyer: History of controversy
• Kreidler: Say no to instant replay
• Jackson: Unring the bell
• Pierzynski: 'A crazy play'
• Crede talks about Sox victory