Smith, Woodson, Sharpe among first-year Hall of Fame candidates

Updated: October 28, 2008, 6:45 PM ET
Associated Press

CANTON, Ohio -- Defensive end Bruce Smith, defensive back Rod Woodson and tight end Shannon Sharpe are among first-year candidates for induction into the Pro Football Hall of Fame.

The list includes 110 players, seven coaches and 16 contributors, including former NFL commissioner Paul Tagliabue and longtime team owners Bud Adams, Jerry Jones, Art Modell and Ralph Wilson.

Hall of Fame selectors will choose 25 candidates who will be announced later this month as semifinalists. The field ...

Read full story


You must be signed in to post a comment

Already have an account?