Haynes, Dent back with renewed hope

Originally Published: March 17, 2009
By Bonnie D. Ford | ESPN.com

Deserts are dry by definition, but it's a little harder to analyze the American drought in the arid beauty that is Indian Wells.

From 1991 through '97, U.S. men passed the title around like a baton on a relay team as Michael Chang won three championships and Pete Sampras and Jim Courier two apiece. Since then, only one American man has prevailed: Andre Agassi in 2001.

That, of course, was the same year Serena Williams won on the women's side, and also the last time ...

Read full story


You must be signed in to post a comment

Already have an account?