Discussion

Odd call in eighth inning

Updated: June 13, 2009, 5:40 PM ET
By ESPN.com

There was controversy in the bottom of the eighth after Cal State Fullerton's Gary Brown was clearly hit by the ball on his elbow pad. There was a sound when the ball hit Brown, and he left the plate to take his base. But the home plate umpire called Brown back and counted it as ball 3.

It's possible the umpire thought the sound was the ball hitting Brown's bat as he turned to avoid the pitch. If baseball had instant replay, there's no doubt the call would have been overturned.

Arkansas ...

Read full story

Comments

You must be signed in to post a comment

Already have an account?

MORE NCAA_BASEBALL HEADLINES

MOST SENT STORIES ON ESPN.COM