Catchings gets honor for third time

Updated: September 25, 2009, 8:30 PM ET
ESPN.com news services

INDIANAPOLIS -- Indiana Fever forward Tamika Catchings has been named the WNBA's defensive player of the year for the third time.

Catchings won in a landslide with 34 votes on Friday. Los Angeles Sparks forward Candace Parker and Atlanta Dream center Erika de Souza both received two votes and two other players got a single vote.

Catchings also won the award in 2005 and 2006. She joins Sheryl Swoopes as the only three-time winners.

Catchings' 99 steals this season were one shy ...

Read full story


You must be signed in to post a comment

Already have an account?