Texas the real wild card in Chase for the Cup

Updated: November 7, 2009, 6:59 PM ET
By Terry Blount

FORT WORTH, Texas -- From the first lap ever turned at this place, Texas Motor Speedway often has made the unexpected a reality.

It began with a multicar crash on the first turn 12 years ago. No one would have guessed Jeff Burton, a fourth-year driver who was winless in his career at the time, would go to Victory Lane in that first race in 1997.

And who would have thought 10 years would pass before Burton became the first driver to win twice at Texas, a track that had 12 different ...

Read full story


You must be signed in to post a comment

Already have an account?