Exemption applies to past Open champs

Updated: November 16, 2009, 11:50 AM ET
By Bob Harig | ESPN.com

The 2010 Open Championship at St. Andrews will not be the final one for five-time champion Tom Watson after all.

The Royal & Ancient Golf Club of St. Andrews, which runs the game's oldest championship, announced Monday a new exemption criteria for past champions:

Any former Open winner who finishes among the top 10 and ties will be exempt for the following five years.

That means that Watson, 60, who lost in a playoff to Stewart Cink this year ...

Read full story


You must be signed in to post a comment

Already have an account?