Cornerbacks stating their case

Revis and Woodson in the running for defensive player of the year honors

Originally Published: December 22, 2009
By Len Pasquarelli | ESPN.com

Not since Deion Sanders in 1994 (his only season with the San Francisco 49ers) has a cornerback been selected as the NFL's Defensive Player of the Year.

That 15-year drought could end in a few weeks, with the ballots due Jan. 4 and the announcement on Jan. 12.

In the 38-season history of the Associated Press Defensive Player of the Year award, only four cornerbacks -- Mel Blount (Pittsburgh, 1975), Lester Hayes (Oakland, 1980), Rod Woodson (Pittsburgh, 1993) and Sanders -- have ...

Read full story


You must be signed in to post a comment

Already have an account?