First forays to French Open final

Updated: June 4, 2010, 9:55 AM ET
By Greg Garber | ESPN.com

PARIS -- Recently, the French Open has become famous -- or is that infamous? -- for delivering first-time, one-time Grand Slam singles champions.

Since the millennium, no fewer than five players have broken through here at Roland Garros: Albert Costa (2002), Juan Carlos Ferrero (2003), Gaston Gaudio (2004), Anastasia Myskina (2004) and Ana Ivanovic (2008). And not one of them has won another major title.

On Saturday, either Italian Francesca Schiavone or Australian ...

Read full story


You must be signed in to post a comment

Already have an account?