Two straight titles for Tamika Catchings

Updated: August 29, 2010, 5:33 PM ET
Associated Press

NEW YORK -- Indiana Fever forward Tamika Catchings has been named the WNBA's defensive player of the year for the second straight year and fourth time overall.

Catchings received 30 of 39 votes from a panel of sports writers and broadcasters. She beat out Chicago's Sylvia Fowles (seven votes), Minnesota's Nicky Anosike (one) and Connecticut rookie Tina Charles (one).

Catchings, the first to receive the award four times, also won in 2005 and 2006.

The Fever host New York in Game ...

Read full story


You must be signed in to post a comment

Already have an account?