Discussion

Ump struggles knowing he blew call

Respected umpire Don Denkinger has moved on, but regrets he got call wrong

Updated: September 16, 2010, 11:36 AM ET
By Mike Fish | ESPN.com

Don Denkinger is a stand-up guy and a respected umpire -- crew chief for the '85 World Series, even -- but if he hadn't blown The Call late in Game 6, the Kansas City Royals might never have celebrated an autumn title. Just maybe, Whitey Herzog and his St. Louis Cardinals would have hung on to snag another championship to go with their '82 title and further enhanced their proud franchise legacy. Only history can't be rewritten.

That Saturday night in October, the Cardinals held a ...

Read full story

Comments

You must be signed in to post a comment

Already have an account?

ESPN TOP HEADLINES

MOST SENT STORIES ON ESPN.COM