Discussion

Ryuji Imada takes 26-stroke penalty

Updated: October 31, 2010, 10:32 AM ET
ESPN.com news services

Failing to read the local rules sheet cost PGA Tour golfer Ryuji Imada a whopping 26 penalty strokes at a tournament in China on Saturday, GolfChannel.com reported.

Imada wasn't the only golfer affected by a rules misunderstanding at the Mission Hills Star Trophy. Colin Montgomerie was penalized two shots after his caddie moved a sign on the 16th hole and finished two strokes behind tournament winner Lorena Ochoa.

Ochoa, the Mexican star who retired last year at the top of her ...

Read full story

Comments

You must be signed in to post a comment

Already have an account?

ESPN TOP HEADLINES

MOST SENT STORIES ON ESPN.COM