Discussion

New year, new rules: Rule No. 4

Updated: December 15, 2010, 11:09 AM ET
ESPN The Magazine

Rule No. 4: Golfers shouldn't suffer for sins of the wind

Golf's rule book is filled with nitpicking that outsiders find silly -- a stroke penalty if you accidentally drop your ball and it moves your marker, for example -- but that purists defend to the death. Even hardened traditionalists, though, have to concede the following: If the wind moves your ball after you've addressed it, you shouldn't be penalized a stroke. Does the USGA really think the golfer and the elements are in cahoots? ...

Read full story

Comments

You must be signed in to post a comment

Already have an account?

SPONSORED HEADLINES

ESPN TOP HEADLINES