Jimmer Fredette, Maya Moore honored

Updated: April 9, 2011, 3:29 PM ET
Associated Press

LOS ANGELES -- Jimmer Fredette of BYU won the John R. Wooden Award as college basketball's player of the year Friday night, easily outpolling Kemba Walker of national champion Connecticut.

Maya Moore of Connecticut won the women's award for the second straight year.

Fredette received 3,761 votes in the poll of nearly 10,000 national media members who cover the sport. Walker was second with 3,356 in voting that closed before the Final Four of the NCAA tournament.

Fredette ...

Read full story


You must be signed in to post a comment

Already have an account?