Roundball Chatter for Feb. 4

• Great to see the renewal of a great rivalry. Two of the elites in the sport will square off again, beginning next season. North Carolina and Kentucky will play next season in Chapel Hill. They played for 12 straight seasons but did not meet this year. I love it, John Calipari vs. Roy Williams, two of the crème de la crème on the college sidelines.

• While that rivalry is coming back, the SEC-Big East Challenge will not. It is always sad when you see anything that eliminates cupcake city, bargain basement goodies, during the early portion of the season.

• With the Big East being broken up a bit, there is good news in one long-time rivalry. Syracuse, heading to the ACC from the Big East, will continue to play St. John's for at least the next two years. One game will be at the Carrier Dome while the second will be at Madison Square Garden.

• Speaking of Syracuse, the Orange suffered a blow when center DaJuan Coleman was lost for several weeks due to a knee injury. Is it me, or does Syracuse seem to lose a player every year? James Southerland is out due to an academic issue. Last year, the Orange missed Fab Melo late in the season.

• Kansas saw its 18-game win streak and 33-game home win streak snapped by Oklahoma State. What a gutsy performance by Travis Ford's squad. The rematch in Stillwater should be exciting.

• If I had to pick one college player to start a team, my choice would be Hoosiers star Cody Zeller. Do not measure his value by stats, but build around a big guy. He showed why in Indiana's win over Michigan on Saturday.

• The Pac-12 Conference will honor 11 former student-athletes and one former coach with their induction into the Pac-12 Men's Basketball Hall of Honor. The induction will occur on Saturday, March 16, during a ceremony prior to the Championship Game at the 2013 Pac-12 Men's Basketball Tournament held at the MGM Grand Garden Arena in Las Vegas. The individuals to be inducted include Jason Gardner of Arizona, Shareef Abdur-Rahim of California, Lucius Allen of UCLA, Nate Robinson of Washington and Keith Van Horn of Utah.