Date: February 15, 2014

Elias Says...

By Elias Sports Bureau, Inc.
Special to



Durant has largest lead at break in points scored since 1973

From Elias: Kevin Durant scored 43 points in the NBA's final game before the break to increase his league-high total of points to 1699, 361 more than the runner-up, Carmelo Anthony (1338). That's the largest lead in points scored at the All-Star break for any player in more than 40 years.

Durant is the first player to lead the league by a margin of 350 or more points at an All-Star break since 1972-73, when Nate Archibald of the Kansas City-Omaha Kings topped the NBA with 1810 points at the break, 421 more than Milwaukee's Kareem Abdul-Jabbar, who ranked second to Archibald at the time.

Last year, Durant prepped for the All-Star Game by scoring 40 points against the Heat in Oklahoma City's final game before the break. In NBA history, only two other players had 40-point games in back-to-back years in their last regular-season game before they appeared in the All-Star Game.

Wilt Chamberlain did that in each of three consecutive All-Star seasons for the Warriors (62 points for Philadelphia in 1962, 48 for San Francisco in 1963 and 47 for San Francisco in 1964). Kareem Abdul-Jabbar did it in two straight years for the Lakers (40 points in 1985 and 46 points in 1986).

Oklahoma City Thunder


Triple crown for Carter-Williams

From Elias: Michael Carter-Williams leads all NBA rookies this season in points per game (17.1), rebounds per game (5.4) and assists per game (6.5). He's only the fourth player in NBA history to own that rookie triple crown (while having played in at least half of his team's games) at the All-Star break. The others were Alvan Adams (1975-76 Suns), Oscar Robertson (1960-61 Cincinnati Royals) and Elgin Baylor (1958-59 Minneapolis Lakers).

Philadelphia 76ers

Thunder own best record

From Elias: Oklahoma City has an NBA-best 43-12 (.782) record. Over the past 15 seasons in which there was an All-Star break, only four teams with the league's best record to that point (tied or outright) went on to win the championship: the 2011-12 Heat, 2008-09 Lakers, 2007-08 Celtics and 2004-05 Spurs. (That span of 15 previous seasons goes back through the 1997-98 season; there was no All-Star break in the 1998-99 season.)

Oklahoma City Thunder