Elias Says ...

A daily glance inside the numbers from the world of sports:


Kenny Rogers improved his career record at McAfee Coliseum to 25-4 in the Tigers' 10-4 victory over the A's on Wednesday. Rogers' .862 winning percentage at the stadium once known as Oakland Coliseum is the third highest in major league history by any pitcher at a stadium at which he has won at least 25 games. The higher marks were recorded by Bob Caruthers at Washington Park (36-4, .900) and Smokey Joe Wood at Fenway Park (39-6, .867).

Mike Mussina raised his record to 10-3 in the Yankees' 11-3 win over the Indians. With that victory, Mussina became the first pitcher in American League history to win 10 or more games in each of 15 consecutive seasons. The previous record of 14 straight seasons was shared by Eddie Plank (1901-1914), Hooks Dauss (1913-1926), and Jim Kaat (1962-1975).

Mussina also tied the AL record for most seasons with 10 wins by the All-Star break. This was Mussina's eighth, equaling Jim Palmer's mark. One big difference: Palmer posted a total of eight 20-win seasons; Mussina has never won more than 19 games in a season.

• The Yankees posted an eight-run fourth inning in the Wednesday win, one night after the Indians scored nine times in the fifth inning of a 19-1 victory over the Yankees. It marked the third time in Yankees history that the team got scorched for at least eight runs in an inning but posted an inning of eight or more runs in the following game, against the same opponent.

Carl Crawford stole second base, third base, and home (not all in the same inning) in the Devil Rays' 5-2 win over the Red Sox. The last player to steal second, third, and home in the same game was Tom Goodwin of the Rockies in 2000. The last AL player was Gerald Williams of the Yankees in 1996.

Chuck James recorded his third win in three major-league starts in the Braves' 14-4 victory over the Cardinals. Only five other pitchers in Braves history won each of their first three MLB starts, and of those five, only Rick Behenna did it during the live-ball era (1983). Among the others was Hall of Famer Vic Willis (1898).

Bartolo Colon pitched a four-hit shutout over the Mariners for his first win of the season. The hard-luck loser was Jamie Moyer, who has been the starting pitcher in five of the MLB-leading 10 games in which Seattle has failed to score this season. The last pitcher to start five games by the All-Star break in which he team didn't score was Fernando Valenzuela, for the Padres and Cardinals in 1997.

Yusmeiro Petit owes his Marlins teammates big-time after earning a victory despite allowing four runs in the first inning of his first major-league start. The Marlins defeated the Nationals 18-9. Only one other pitcher in the last 75 years won his first MLB start after yielding four or more runs in the first inning, and that was in 1961 (Howie Koplitz of the Tigers).

• Last season, Jeremy Affeldt threw 943 pitches and didn't win a single game. Wednesday night, Affeldt threw one pitch and earned his fourth victory of the season in the Royals' 6-3 win over the Twins.

Derrick Turnbow recorded four outs in the Brewers' 6-5 win over the Reds. It was the first time Turnbow pitched more than one inning since May 22, 2005 -- a span of 86 appearances which is the longest in Brewers' history. It was the third-longest current streak in the majors, behind Eddie Guardado (97) and Trevor Hoffman (93).

• The Mets recorded all their runs and all four of their hits in the first inning of a 5-0 victory over the Pirates. Over the last 40 years, only one other team scored as many as five runs in a game in which it didn't get a hit after the first inning: the A's in an 8-4 win over the Blue Jays in 1994.

Only one major-league team in the past 10 years had even won a game in which it didn't get a hit after the first inning. The Braves beat the Marlins 3-1 in 2002, getting all four of their hits in the first inning.


• France defeated Portugal 1-0 on a first-half penalty kick by Zinedine Zidane. It was the first 1-0 semifinal match in World Cup history to be decided by a penalty-kick goal. There was one such final: Germany over Argentina in 1990 on a goal by Andreas Brehme in the 85th minute.

• Zidane's penalty kick was the 16th awarded in this competition, but the first since the round of 16, when David Villa of Spain scored against France.

• Fabien Barthez recorded his 10th World Cup victory. Only three other goalkeepers reached double-figures: Taffarel, 12; Gilmar and Sepp Maier, 11. Barthez also equaled Peter Shilton's record of 10 World Cup shutouts.

• Among the strangest statistics of the 2006 World Cup: Including its 1-0 loss to France, semifinalist Portugal has gone 277 minutes without scoring a goal, the longest scoreless span by any team in this tournament. Portugal hasn't scored since the 23rd minute of its round-of-16 victory over the Netherlands. Maniche scored that goal.