Colts nominated for six ESPY awards; Lady Vols up for five honors

The Super Bowl champion Indianapolis Colts lead
the way with six ESPY nominations this year.

The nominees were announced Monday morning. Fans will vote for
the winners in 38 categories on ESPN.com, and the awards show airs July 15 at 9 p.m. ET on ESPN from
Hollywood's Kodak Theatre.

Cleveland Cavaliers star LeBron James, who will co-host the
event with ABC late-night talk show host Jimmy Kimmel, is nominated
in three categories, including Best Male Athlete.

This is the first time in the history of the awards show that an athlete and celebrity have shared co-host duties.

The national champion Tennessee women's basketball team has the
second most nominations with five, including Best Team.

The other Best Team nominees are the Florida men's basketball
and football squads, the San Antonio Spurs, the Colts and the St.
Louis Cardinals. Women have won the ESPY for Best Team twice: the
Connecticut basketball team in 1996 and the U.S. World Cup soccer
team in 2000.

There won't be a repeat in the Best Male and Female Athlete
awards. Cyclist Lance Armstrong, who won the men's honor four
consecutive years, has retired, and golfer Annika Sorenstam, who
won the women's title two years in a row, is not nominated.

James is pitted against tennis' Roger Federer, the NFL's Peyton
Manning and LaDainian Tomlinson and golf's Tiger Woods in the men's
category. The women's nominees are the WNBA's Lisa Leslie, Arizona
softball's Taryne Mowatt, golfer Lorena Ochoa and Tennessee
basketball's Candace Parker.

Manning is also one of the celebrity presenters scheduled to appear. Cardinals quarterback Matt Leinart, tennis star Maria Sharapova, swimming star Michael Phelps and Titans quarterback Vince Young are other prominent athletes scheduled to present awards.

Woods, who is also nominated in two other categories, holds the
records for the most nominations (30) and wins (16). He is one of
three athletes with a chance to be honored as the best in his sport
for a third consecutive year, joining Federer and baseball's Albert

A new award for Best Finish has been added this year. And the
Best Boxer award has been renamed Best Fighter to include mixed
martial arts competitors as well as boxers.

Two special awards are not voted on by fans. The Arthur Ashe
Courage Award is presented to individuals whose contributions
transcend sports. The new Jimmy V Award for Perseverance will be
presented to a person whose performance has evoked emotion and
provided inspiration to the sports world.

The Associated Press contributed to this report.