Return to Glory

1 of 11

Following tradition

Photograph By Benjamin Rasmussen for ESPN The Magazine

The Iroquois are also known as the Haudenosaunee, the People of the Longhouse. They comprise six nations: Mohawk, Oneida, Onondaga, Cayuga, Seneca and Tuscarora and are considered the founders of the sport of lacrosse. They competed as a team in July at the 2014 FIL World Championships in Colorado after being unable to play in 2010, when they were denied entry into London because the British would not accept their tribal passports.