Print and Go Back NFL [Print without images]

Wednesday, March 19, 2014
Eric Winston elected union president news services

ORLANDO, Fla. -- Veteran tackle Eric Winston has been elected president of the players' union.

Winston succeeds Domonique Foxworth, who was out of the league last season and so could not seek re-election.

Foxworth congratulated Winston in a tweet Wednesday.

@ericwinston congrats! Love you! And proud of you!

- Domonique Foxworth (@Foxworth24) March 19, 2014

NFLPA executive director DeMaurice Smith also took to Twitter to thank Foxworth and salute Winston for his new position.

Thank you to @foxworth24 and all the Executive Committee for their leadership. Congratulations to Eric Winston. Lots of great work ahead

- DeMaurice Smith (@DeSmithNFLPA) March 19, 2014

Free-agent safety Ryan Clark and New Orleans Saints tight end Benjamin Watson were the other two finalists nominated for the position, and both congratulated Winston with tweets.

Congrats to new NFLPA President Eric Winston

- Ryan Clark (@Realrclark25) March 19, 2014

Congratulations to @ericwinston new @NFLPA president!

- Benjamin Watson (@BenjaminSWatson) March 19, 2014

Winston, 30, has played for Houston, Kansas City and Arizona since being a third-round draft pick in 2006 by the Texans. He has been an active union member since 2010 and was a leading spokesman for the players during the 2011 lockout.

He played his first six NFL seasons with the Texans, joined the Chiefs in 2012 and the Cardinals last season. Winston has started 119 consecutive games, the second-longest streak for an active player. He also has played in 124 straight regular-season games, also second-most among active players.

Watson and Clark will both serve on the executive committee elected later Wednesday by the union's board of representatives. Clark joined Lorenzo Alexander and Jay Feely of the Cardinals, Zak DeOssie and Mark Herzlich of the Giants, Adam Vinatieri of the Colts, and Scott Wells of the Rams as new members of the executive committee. Watson, Matt Hasselbeck of the Colts, and free agent Brian Waters were re-elected.

Saints quarterback Drew Brees stepped down from the executive committee. Cardinals reporter Josh Weinfuss and The Associated Press contributed to this report.