Print and Go Back Men's College Basketball [Print without images]

Monday, March 24, 2014
Gregg Marshall gets Henry Iba Award news services

Gregg Marshall, who guided Wichita State to the first 35-0 start in NCAA men's history, won the Henry Iba Coach of the Year Award on Monday.

Gregg Marshall and Fred VanVleet
Gregg Marshall is 174-71 in seven seasons at Wichita State and 368-154 in 16 seasons as a college coach.

The Shockers, the top seed in the Midwest Region, advanced to the Round of 32 in the NCAA tournament, where they lost to Kentucky on Sunday and finished the season at 35-1.

The 51-year-old Marshall, in his seventh season at WSU, led the Shockers to an 18-0 mark in the Missouri Valley Conference. It also was the fifth consecutive season in which Wichita State reached the 25-win mark.

"Gregg Marshall has established himself as one of the nation's top coaches, first at Winthrop and now at Wichita State," USBWA president Kirk Wessler said in a statement. "But the job he did this season -- coaching his team to an unbeaten regular-season record and the historic accomplishment of becoming the first team to win 35 games without a loss -- was transcendent."

Marshall will receive the award, presented annually by the U.S. Basketball Writers Association, during the Final Four on April 4 in Arlington, Texas.